TECHNOLOGICAL, ECOLOGICAL
AND INDUSTRIAL PROWESS

The Groix & Belle-Île pilot wind farm comprising four floating wind turbines was selected as winner of the ADEME’s EOLFLO call for projects in 2016.

Interested in receiving the project newsletter?

After consulting with all stakeholders (local councillors, governmental departments, coastal workers, socio-professional and association representatives), the Conférence Régionale Mer et Littoral de Bretagne (Brittany’s Regional Sea & Coast Conference) and the ADEME selected the Groix & Belle-Île floating wind farm. The Groix & Belle-Île floating wind farm site emerged as the ideal sector in which to establish the pilot farm for the following reasons:

  • The sector is representative of sea conditions across most of the global floating wind turbine market.
  • Developing a project at the Groix & Belle-Île floating wind farm site is an opportunity to demonstrate the reliability of the technology used, and a chance to showcase French industrial expertise.
  • Existing infrastructures in western France capable of accommodating the site (Lorient for maintenance, Brest and Saint-Nazaire for construction and part assembly, etc.).
  • Renewable marine energy projects such as the Groix & Belle-Île and Saint-Brieuc floating wind farms will help secure Brittany’s electricity supplies.
  • The relative proximity to the coast due to maintenance requirements.

The site selected for the four wind turbines lies at the centre of a 17km²-sector, approved by the Conférence Régionale Mer et Littoral de Bretagne (Brittany’s Regional Sea & Coast Conference). This more restricted perimeter offers greater compatibility with sea uses and restricts impact on the marine environment.

The project in figures

Four 6 MW wind turbines

0 MW
CAPACITY
0 M€
INVESTMENT
0 KM
DISTANCE FROM THE COAST
0 ANS
OPERATIONS & FOLLOW-UP
0
SERVICE
0 M
WATER DEPTH

Project schedule

planning-uk

PARTNERS

Any questions? Ask them over here

Architecture of the floating
wind turbines

The wind turbine float developed by Naval Energies and VINCI Construction France comprises four cylindrical steel columns designed to ensure buoyancy for the concrete baseplate that stabilises the structure. This float is anchored to the seabed with six anchor lines to hold the wind turbine in place and prevent drifting. The wind turbine developed by GE RENEWABLE ENERGY has a capacity of 6 MW equivalent to the electricity needs of 5,000 households. Several technological innovations have been implemented to adapt the wind turbine to a floating environment.

éoliennes flottantes de groix et belle-Ile
Nous contacter

Vous pouvez nous envoyer votre demande ici, nous y répondrons dès que possible.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Une prouesse technologique,
écologique et industrielle

La ferme pilote des 4 éoliennes flottantes de Groix & Belle-Île, lauréate de l’appel à projets EOLFLO de l’ADEME en 2016.

La Conférence Régionale Mer et Littoral de Bretagne puis l’ADEME ont retenu le site des éoliennes flottantes de Groix & Belle-Île après concertation avec l’ensemble des parties prenantes : élus, services de l’Etat, usagers de la mer, représentants socio-professionnels et associatifs. Le site des éoliennes flottantes de Groix & Belle-Île est en effet apparu comme un secteur favorable à l’accueil de la ferme pilote, essentiellement pour les raisons suivantes :

  • C’est un secteur représentatif des conditions de mer de l’essentiel du marché mondial pour l’éolien flottant ;
  • le développement d’un projet sur le site des éoliennes flottantes de Groix & Belle-Île permettra de démontrer la fiabilité des technologies déployées et d’exposer le savoir-faire de l’industrie française ;
  • les infrastructures existent dans le grand ouest pour accueillir l’activité (à Lorient pour la maintenance, à Brest et Saint-Nazaire pour la construction et l’assemblage des pièces, etc.) ;
  • les projets d’énergies marines renouvelables comme ceux du site des éoliennes flottantes de Groix & Belle-Île et de Saint-Brieuc participeront à la sécurisation de l’alimentation électrique de la Bretagne ;
  • la relative proximité des côtes s’explique, notamment, par la nécessité de la maintenance.

L’emplacement retenu pour les 4 éoliennes occupe le centre du secteur de 17 km² validé par la Conférence Régionale Mer et Littoral de Bretagne. Cette implantation plus resserrée offre une plus grande compatibilité avec les usages de la mer et limite les effets sur l’environnement marin.

Le projet en chiffres

4 éoliennes de 6 MW

0 MW
CAPACITÉ
0 M€
INVESTISSEMENT
0 KM
DISTANCE DE LA CÔTE
0 ANS
EXPLOITATION & SUIVI
0
MISE EN SERVICE
0 M
PROFONDEUR D'EAU

Planning du projet

éoliennes flottantes de groix et belle-Ile

LES PARTENAIRES

Vous souhaitez poser une question ? Faites-le ici

Architecture
de l’éolienne flottante

Le flotteur de l’éolienne développé par DCNS Energies et VINCI Construction France est constitué de 4 colonnes cylindriques en acier assurant la flottabilité et d’une embase en béton assurant la stabilité. Ce flotteur est ancré au fond de la mer par 6 lignes de mouillage pour maintenir l’éolienne sur sa position et éviter qu’elle ne dérive. L’éolienne développée par GE RENEWABLE ENERGY offre une capacité de 6 MW soit l’équivalent de la consommation d’électricité de 5000 foyers. Plusieurs innovations technologiques sont mises en œuvre pour adapter l’éolienne à son environnement flottant.

éoliennes flottantes de groix et belle-Ile
Nous contacter

Vous pouvez nous envoyer votre demande ici, nous y répondrons dès que possible.

Pas lisible ? Changer le texte.